Skip to content

Transition & Paralysis

January 27, 2014

photoThe Bookshelf Above My Desk at Home

In just a few short days I will officially transition from spending most of my time thinking about museum studies to spending most of my time thinking about 19th Century philanthropy.  I’ve been planning this leap on and off for more than three years and now that it is here terrified.  My bookshelf is full of interesting titles:  Mark Twain’s “The Diaries of Adam and Eve,” Tyler’s oldie but goodie “Freedom’s Ferment,” a book of articles edited b Lawrence Friedman and Mark D. McGarvie “Charity, Philanthropy, and Civility in the United States,”  John Malcom Brinnin’s fun “The Sway of the Grand Saloon: A Social History of the North Atlantic.”

I should be so excited but I’m only beginning to know what I don’t know and the result is books that end up looking like this one with notes and comments on every page.

photo(2)

So today I am sitting in my office at home paralyzed, unable to make a decision about what to do next.  What am I going to do: read, cry, answer emails, plan, shop, bake cookies, straighten the house (only as a last resort, don’t worry), or blog?   Blog it is.

A few photographs, a short blog and it’s all good.  One step in front of the other, one bite of the elephant at a time, I will move forward in looking backward.   Channeling my inner Yoda, “Lucky am I to do something I love.”   Wishing you all the same.

 

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

