Skip to content

DPLA-Palooza

May 2, 2016

Quattrocentrist here! Very excited to be named as one of the 4th class of Community Representatives for the Digital Public Library of America (DPLA).  My goal is to spread the word about DPLA to Cleveland’s wide array of cultural organizations that combine library, archive, and museum services and foster inter-institutional collaborations.

One reason why I wanted to be associated with the DPLA is I haven’t felt so excited about the potential for serendipitous discovery since the physical slide library disappeared from the Ingalls library at the Cleveland Museum of Art.  More to come about Ingalls in further posts because it is one of the best run and managed art research libraries in the United States….but wait…I was talking about serendipity.

I love the DPLA because I consistently run across items and connections that make my mitochondrial DNA sing for joy at our interconnected world.  So what I’ve been doing recently is simply exploring the (to me) untapped resources of the DPLA and thought I might use this blog to occasionally share my discoveries with you in the hopes that you will venture into the DPLA and make connections  yourself (and maybe share them with me).  Try it!

Today’s discovery is Henry Lovejoy Ambler’s 1911 History of Dentistry in Cleveland, Ohio.  Ambler’s book entered the DPLA via the Open Knowledge Commons from the Columbia University Libraries.  And lo and behold, because everything comes full circle, I just typed in Henry Lovejoy Ambler’s name in the Cleveland History Center of the WRHS  and discovered that resting comfortably in a box, two floors above my office is the original manuscript for the History of Dentistry as well as his manuscript for Facts, fads and fancies about teeth (Cleveland: The Helman-Taylor Company, 1899).   I’ve got a dentist appointment this Thursday and I can’t wait to share today’s adventure with my dentist Dr. Jason Schermer.  DPLA I love you!

 

2 Comments
  1. Christine Edmonson permalink

    Hi! Thanks for this — I use the Hathi Trust all the time, and see they are part of DPLA. Also, I found a nurse from the American Ambulance Unit, Candace L. Hanna, photographed in an exhibit at the Dittrick.Think she might be part of the Hanna Family? Archivist told me she was from Wadsworth.

    • Thanks Christine for chiming in. I do so love the Hathi Trust too. I will check out Candace–there were a whole lot of Hannas at one time.

Leave a Reply

